Week 48: in which change is in the air

Dear friends and family,

Well, looks like I’m headed out this transfer. We got the call on Saturday night that I’m headed to Arauco (my companion’s old area!) to finish the training of new missionary, and Hermana Custodio is staying here to train a greenie! 😀 (A greenie is a new missionary.)  I’m sad that the time has come to say good-bye to Villa Obispo and to Hermana Custodio. I really fell in love with the mission, the members, and the investigators here, and I feel that I have worked harder here than I have at any other time in the mission. It’s so true that service is one way that true love really grows. I’m so grateful for the opportunity I’ve had to be here. I’m also a little nervous about training. I’m grateful for the demonstration of God’s confidence in me, and I’m trying to live up to that. I also know there are things one can learn only through training. I look forward to the opportunity to share with a new missionary all that I’ve learned in these 11(!!!!!!) months and to see what God needs to teach me (probably a little more patience, hope, and charity). I know that if I allow Him to, He can make more of me than I could ever do alone.

Anita Burgos y Felix Rios

On Sunday Chile played in the semi-finals of some championship, which meant that nobody was in the street in the afternoon. Chile becomes a ghost town when there’s a big game on, so it’s nice to be able to plan and study during that time. 😛

Eugenia Sepulveda y Barbara Salamanca

Lesli wasn’t able to go to church this week because of a family trip, but she’s still excited for her baptism (now on the 15). Paola is working to overcome her fear of marriage and meet the goal of her baptism on the 22; she knows that this message is true, and she says she’ll do whatever is necessary to be baptized this month. She is really an incredible woman; I have an enormous respect for her as a mother, woman, and friend. I’m sad that I’ll be so far away for these baptisms and marriage, but I’m grateful for the opportunity to be at least a part of their conversion and to love them.

Scarlet Alarcon, Gustavo, Florencia3

It’s a short one today because time is also short, but know that I love you all. I know that God has restored His true church on the earth because He loves us and wants His children to have clarity and truth. I know that through the Atonement of Christ, we may really become clean and be healed from all affliction, sin, and grief. A member asked me yesterday how I came to know Christ; as I’ve taught, prayed, fasted, served, cried, and repented in these 11 months, Christ has become more real to me than ever. He is my Savior, my Brother, my Friend. I feel His love so much stronger, and as I’ve sought the healing and enabling power of His Atonement, I’ve felt His peace and grown to become a much better person, teacher, and missionary. I urge you all to study His words and His Atonement and to apply it daily in your lives.

Sofia, x, Hna Ingrid Zuloaga, Andres

¡Besitos y abrazos a todos! May you always remember who you are. 😀

Love,
Hermana Saunders

