Week 42: in which we lose some and win some

Dear friends and family,
Whew! What a week! I don’t know that a “slow week” exists in the mission.

my first persimion

This week we dropped an investigator who told us that truth doesn’t exist and that we were basically a cult. But his sister wants to listen, so that was exciting! 😀

SANY0088

On Monday we had a lesson with Lesli, one of our investigators who is friends with a young woman from our ward. We talked about the Book of Mormon and how it was written for us. We read 1 Nephi 2:16 with her, substituting “Lesli” for “Nefi,” and she really felt like the verse was talking about her. She was able to identify with Nephi, who was also searching to know the truth of all things, and the Spirit was able to testify to her that just like God answered Nephi, He will answer her. I love the Book of Mormon! And I’ve seen the difference in the lessons when we share at least one verse from it in every lesson. There is real power in the book. If you haven’t read it yet, READ IT! And don’t just read the words; put your name in place of the names in the chapters, underline parts that call your attention, think about how it applies to your life. I promise that as you do so, you will find a greater relationship to your Heavenly Father as well as other treasures that money cannot buy.

SANY0122

On Tuesday I taught the lesson in district meeting, which was fun. I enjoy teaching because as I prepare the lesson, I learn so much more than I do just listening to it. While we were knocking on Tuesday, a man poked his head out and yelled, “I’ve seen you before!” I was rather taken aback as I had never seen this man before in my life. He continued, “You were in hell! Ciao.” Just before he popped back inside, Hermana Lange laughingly responded, “You were there?” It made our day. XD

SANY0120

On Friday Hermana Lange had her last interview with President before the hermanas’ service activity that morning. That night we had a FANTASTIC lesson about the restoration with the girlfriend of an inactive member. It was the first time that I have almost cried recounting Joseph Smith’s experience, and I felt so strongly the truth of that experience. What a wonderful thing to know that the Heavens are still open and that God still reveals His truths to His children. It was also cool because the member who went with us, Hermana Carmen Julia, is an incredible teacher and very loving. She bore a powerful testimony and offered to help the investigator, whose kids are sick. It was a great experience. 🙂

SANY0129

On Saturday we had another open house in another ward’s chapel, which was a lot of fun. I love open houses because it’s an opportunity to bear testimony about truths that are so dear to me.

SANY0091

Sunday was an emotional day. It was Hermana Lange’s last day in Villa Obispo. After church we dropped by a couple houses of members so that Hermana Lange could say goodbye before President came to pick her up. She left for Concepción that afternoon, and now I’m in a trio until my new companion comes on Tuesday. I was sad to see Hermana Lange go; she’s an incredible missionary and a great companion and friend. I’ll miss her here, and I know that so will many other members and investigators here in Chile.

SANY0132

I wish I could talk about EVERYTHING that happened this week, but time does not allow, so that’s all for this week! Know that I love you all very much, and I hope that all is well! Remember who you are and WHOSE you are!

SANY0135

Love from Chile,
Hermana Saunders

