Week 41: in which Lorena gets baptized!!!!

Dear family and friends,

I apologize for the heart attack I gave to a few of you last week… 😬 Everything’s good here in Chile! Hermana Lange and I are working hard and enjoying every day we have together. I’m also bracing myself for the oncoming winter and the onslaught of bread, soups, and hot coco/Eco that come with it. (Eco is this really fantastic drink that’s kind of like coffee but made from wheat. I love it. 😁)

I hope everyone had a wonderful week! I especially hope that all of the moms were properly spoiled and appreciated for all of their love and hard work. The church released a really great video called “Life doesn’t come with a manual; it comes with a mother.” I’m so grateful for all of the moms who have worked so hard to love and teach their children. So happy (belated) Mother’s Day!!

SANY0099

On Monday Lorena had her baptismal interview in the chapel. We walked her home and stopped by for a second to say hi to Gabriel and her son Martin. I asked Martin if he was excited for his mom to get baptized, and he said, “Yep! And I’m excited for my turn to come soon!” 😄😄  I love teaching families!!

SANY0097

This weekend we had the privilege of being a part of Lorena’s baptism. It was incredible to watch Gabriel exercise the priesthood authority for the first time as he baptized Lorena. They were both so nervous! But everything turned out really great. I felt the Spirit so strong during the service, especially when Hermana Lange and I sang “Soy un hijo de Dios,” and the Spirit testified that yes, we are children of God, and He still guides us here so that one day we can all be with Him again. It is an incredible experience to be part of the work of salvation for the children of Heavenly Father.

SANY0101

Miracles! Yesterday we finally found a set of twins that we contacted a couple weeks back, and they both accepted a baptismal date! They’re so great, although the lesson was interesting with their SIX dogs all over the place. On Tuesday, we found SEVEN news/THREE families!! (News is the name we give to the people we find, have a lesson with, and who want us to come back again. :D) We found all of them because we talk to everyone on the street and work to place an appointment for another day. It was evidence that when we work hard and apply the counsel of our leaders, God blesses our efforts, no matter how small they are. On Friday we had a lesson with Lesli, the friend of one of the young women in our ward. She’s one of the news we found on Tuesday, and she’s a wonderful girl who is honestly seeking to find the truth that will fill the empty space she feels in her life. Her mom is listening to the lessons as well, but she’s a little more hesitant to accept something different. I’m grateful for the little miracles I see in every day, and it’s been a blessing to see even more clearly God’s hand in every day.

SANY0105

That’s it for this week! I hope everyone has a wonderful week full of miracles, both big and small. Remember that your Heavenly Father loves you and wants the best for you. Remember what the prophet Mosiah says in the Book of Mormon: “I would that you would remember the blessed and happy state of those who keep the commandments.” I’ve learned in the mission that the commandments are not a list of good ideas or a list of “Thou shalt nots” but a way of life that will bring lasting and true joy. They are the loving admonitions of a Heavenly Father to His children.

I love you all! Remember who you are!! Be safe, be kind, be grateful, be patient. And don’t forget to pray!

Love from Chile,
Hermana Saunders

P.S. I’m sorry I don’t have pics this week, but I’ll remember my camera next week for sure! 😛

