Week 35: in which there is an attack of hermanas

Dear family and friends,
Wow! We’re at the end of another transfer! Hermana Lange and I are confident that we’ll stay together in Villa Obispo for this next transfer, so neither of us are stressed about it.

I love working with the members! On Monday night we had a Family Home Evening with the family Sanhueza Bravo, and they invited our investigator Lorena and her son, Martin. We talked about the importance of scripture study, ate yummy food, and had a great time. I love that family, and it was great to show Lorena that not all of the members are as strange as the missionaries. 😉

On Thursday all 6 of the hermanas in our zone worked in Cabrero, a pueblito a little ways from LÁ. The hermanas stationed there split off with hermanas from other sectors, and we contacted, went to appointments, and contacted some more to help the two hermanas in that sector find more people to teach. We call this an “attaque” (attack), and generally it works pretty well for finding new people. It was fun.

CONFERENCE WEEKEND! If you didn’t watch all of it this weekend, MAKE time to watch it again! You will not waste a single second. (General Conference is when leaders of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints talk to the entire church by a satellite transmission.) I didn’t get to watch any of it in English, but the best part of living in the 21st Century is that I can download it and listen to it later. 😀 Yay for technology! Plus it was cool to realize how much I understood. I neglected to bring my notes, so I don’t have what I wanted to share with y’all; you’ll just have to watch it yourself. 😉 And Elder Renlund alluded to Les Mis!! 😀

Yesterday I completed EIGHT MONTHS in the mission! Wow. My wonderful compi made pancakes for me to celebrate, and the other hermanas fixed up a little “Feliz Cumplemes!” sign for me. I felt loved. 😄

Honestly, Sunday is the day of miracles. We finally found an investigator whom we haven’t seen for almost three weeks; she has shown a sincere interest in learning, but she has been called into work before almost every single appointment! But she has until Easter off, so we’re good now. I look forward to teaching her. On Sunday we weren’t able to get into any houses, but a future told us that she was really interested, the mother of a different future said she was interested, and we set several return appointments. I felt pretty good about it.

I’m learning more each day the wisdom of Nike’s slogan: “Just do it!” Things like contacting in the street often scare me, but I’m realizing how many opportunities I miss when I hesitate or debate. That’s been one of my greatest challenges in the mission: overcoming the fear of acting. In Conference someone talked about the Holy Ghost as the still, small voice that directs us to do good and how the first thought is generally the prompting. For a while I was frustrated because I couldn’t figure out when it was my thought and when it was the Holy Ghost. I’m learning that “all good things come from God,” and if it directs me to do good, I shouldn’t worry so much. Looking back, I’ve realized how many times it really was the Holy Ghost, and I’m grateful for when I did listen and sad for when I didn’t. I’m learning more and more each day that God really does have things in His loving, more-than-capable hands.

I love you all! Be safe. Be smart. Be kind. And watch Conference! Go to lds.org, and you’ll find it easily. Tell them I sent you. 😉

Until next week!
Love,
Hermana Saunders

