Week 33: in which it’s a nice day for a Chilean wedding

Dear family and friends,

Calm down, it’s not my own wedding. I’m not that trunky. 😛 On Saturday we helped the hermanas of another ward with a wedding of their investigators. It was a sweet wedding, but let me tell you, it was one of the oddest weddings I have ever attended. But hey, that’s what happens when you leave the wedding details to the missionaries. ;P

The week before we asked three families to pray to know what friends/families/coworkers they could invite to listen to the missionaries. None of them gave us names (yet, anyway), but through each family we ended up finding new people: a friend of one of the girls went to church with her this week and agreed to meet with us; a brother who was visiting at lunch also came to church and wants to know more; and the other family will go with us to visit Gabriel. So even though they didn’t give us names on purpose, God still sent people their way. I love miracles. 😬

English classes have been interesting. Either nobody goes, or we have two or three people. But it´s fun when I do get the chance to teach something. But it never beats teaching the gospel. 😀

It is truly a privilege to teach Gabriel. I have honestly never met someone so truly prepared to accept the gospel. He loves going to church and has asked how he can pay tithing. The Sunday before last he was impressed with the priesthood class, in which they talked about the importance of women in the church and families. He said that he had planned to take a trip to Miami, but now he wants to go to Salt Lake so he can visit the temple. Hermana Lange and I swallowed about twenty flies on Sunday, our mouths dropped open so often when we talked to him. It makes me so happy to see him become truly converted. It’s amazing, and I wish he could share a little of his amazingness with other investigators who are struggling.

We had an incredible conference on Wednesday with President and Sister May. I wish I´d brought my notes to share with you, but know that I left that meeting very much uplifted and with a lot of energy. 😀

I would like to share something else I’ve learned this week. Often we become very discouraged because we aren’t where we want to be and because we keep making the same stupid mistakes over and over again. We wonder how on earth we can really be forgiven, how we could ever be better. But I love what Brad Wilcox says about the Atonement: “Perfection is our long-term goal, but for now our goal is progress, CONTINUOUS progress, made possible through the CONTINUOUS Atonement” (The Continuous Atonement). The Atonement and the patience of our Heavenly Father never “runs out.” There is no expiration date, no limit that we can reach. Christ promised to forgive us as often as we repent. That means every. single. time. What an amazing promise.

Know that I love you all! And know that so does your Heavenly Father.

Be safe. Be smart. Be kind. Be patient.

Until next week!
Love,
Hermana Saunders

