Week 26: in which Hermana Saunders goes back to Primary

Dearest friends and family,

Whew! One more week, and I’ll complete SIX MONTHS in the mission! I can’t believe how quickly the time has gone, and I look forward to a full year in the work of the Lord.

This week I studied a lot about humility and its role in the work. I realized that while the Lord promises so many blessings to the obedient, we don’t receive the same blessings if we aren’t being humble as well. We cannot work with the Spirit if we’re not humble and willing to do what the Lord wants. This is HIS work, and He’s just shaping me to be an extension of His hands. (My brother once counseled me that “A tool in the hands of a Master is not a better tool but an extension of the Master Himself.” It’s always stuck with me.) Humility is also important because pride destroys companionships; it causes contention because pride never says “I’m sorry” or “Will you help me?” I’ve seen both sides in my companionships, and I’m grateful for the help that my Father has given as I’ve sought to improve in this area.

We’ve seen several small miracles this week. We had quite an adventure on Thursday as we looked for a certain store downtown, but Heavenly Father really helped us. A member happened to be in the same area when we really needed help to carry water for our emergency store back to our apartment. Before that, we also encountered the friend of Christian, an RM who went inactive but is re-activating, and the friend said sure, we could pass by later. Also, we contacted a former contact of Hermana Nielson who is now much more open to learning about the restored gospel. And we had some really great contacts that we’re looking forward to teaching. Most of these miracles came in the middle of some interesting mishaps during the day, but it was a testimony to me that God can make miracles out of anything and that He can put us where He needs us.

SANY0177.JPG

We started teaching English classes on Saturday, and I’m looking forward to using this opportunity to bring more people to the church building; at least they´ll become more familiar with the building and realize that the Mormons are actually really normal people. 😉 I’m also excited for this opportunity to teach: I’ve realized that I really love teaching –tutoring, really — and I love working with people. This will be fun. 😀

Sunday was an interesting day. Francisca is a 9-year-old that we’re kind of “sharing” with the elders because half of the time, Fran is at her abuela’s house in the elders’ sector. She hasn’t wanted to come to our (her) ward because she doesn’t have any friends yet, but she came this Sunday because she could invite her cousin, who’s a member of the ward that shares our building. Í’ve forgotten what it’s like to have a slightly hyper-active 9-year-old in sacrament meeting…but she actually did pretty well, and even said the prayer when she was called on in Sunday school. (She’s been assisting in her cousin’s ward, and her dad is an inactive member, so she’s familiar with the church.) She wanted us to come to the class with her, so Hermana Nielson and I fit ourselves into slightly too-small desks with 9-11 year-olds and listened as the teacher taught about Joseph Smith and the gold plates. It was actually a really great class. 🙂

Also, PLOT TWIST! On Wednesday, we had a missionary broadcast in which the church missionary board announced some major changes to the daily schedule, to Preach My Gospel (our handbook of sorts of what we teach), and to the information we report each week. We’re really excited about these changes because we’ll be able to adapt the schedule more appropriately to the needs of our area, and we’ll have more practice creating and maintaining our own schedule instead of following a strict schedule for 18 months-2 years. Also, we’ll have two more hours of P-Day!! 😀

I love you all, and I hope you have a great week! Remember that God loves you very much and wants the best for you. He wants to hear from you, and He always always always will answer your prayers.

Be safe. Be smart. Be kind. God be with you all!

Love,
Hermana Saunders

