Week 25: in which Hermana Saunders travels the world

Dearest family and friends,

Hola from Los Angeles! Los Angeles, Chile, that is. 😉 It’s a little toasty here; it’s reached 100 degrees several times this week. But hey! At least the wash dries really quickly! Also, there’s one sector here where all of the street names are countries, everything from Estados Unidos to Japon. It’s great. 😀

Foto0115.jpg

My new companion is Hermana Nielson. She’s fantastic, and we get along really well. However, I beginning to think that one of the things Heavenly Father is trying to teach me is how to compromise; He’s given me three companions who are wonderful people but COMPLETELY opposite of me. BUT we have a few very important things in common: we love the gospel and our mission; we love to serve; we want to be obedient, and we love the people; and we’re determined to work with the Spirit and with love. 🙂

SANY0159.JPG

I really love working with Hermana Nielson. I feel comfortable asking any questions or for help, and she has an amazing love for the people here. I’m grateful for what I’ve learned from her in just this week. I’m completely lost in the sector, but I know that’s normal for the first week and that I’ll learn soon enough. The ward members are warmly receptive of the missionaries, and I can feel their love and support. (It helps when you’re given ice cream from three different members in your first day…) I’m grateful for the opportunity to work with them.

On Tuesday we had an interesting lesson. We were teaching Christian, who is returning to the church after a while, and his girlfriend, Valeria, who is super sweet and just great. I was explaining something about the Book of Mormon when all of a sudden my nose started bleeding! I ran into the bathroom and was there for a few minutes until it stopped. We all laughed about it, but I was a little embarrassed… 😛

On Saturday we helped at an open-house in Cabrera, where we gave tours of the church. It was really cool, and a LOT of people came. It was great to see so many people at least interested about learning qué tal with the Mormons, and the sisters there now have several new contacts.

We spent a lot of time contacting this week, which meant quite a bit of time in the street but less time in the houses. But we did see miracles with the progression of recent converts who have gone inactive. A very sweet sister attended church after several months of inactivity, and she was able to find answers to questions in Principles of the Gospel [in English, it’s Gospel Principles]. (That class is definitely inspired.) Yesterday we FINALLY encountered a sister we’ve been searching for all week. She’s really struggling to accept the church, and Hermana Nielson says that this whole time she’s been really closed with the missionaries, so it’s been difficult to address her concerns. But yesterday she shared several doubts that she’s had about the church and about the doctrine, and we were able to understand and address some of her concerns. I look forward to helping her regain her faith and come closer to her Heavenly Father.

I love you all! Remember who you are. Be safe, be smart, be kind, and trust in your Heavenly Father.

Ciao for now!

Hermana Saunders

