Week 24: in which the Hermanas say “No mas pan!”

Dearest friends and family,

It is impossible to avoid eating something that is served with every. single. meal. as a missionary. Both Hermana Chavez and I tried really hard this week to avoid the delicious white bread that is sold on every corner and eaten with every lunch. It just doesn’t work in Chile… But I’d really like to do something about the 20 pounds of “blessings” I’ve gained in the past 4 months… 😛

SANY0138.JPG

Transfers!! Tomorrow I’ll move to Los Angeles. Whoo, packing… My new comp will be Hermana Nielson, who finished training Hermana Chavez! I’m a little nervous, but I know that transfers are inspired, and I look forward to getting to know a little more of the mission. The downside is that Los Angeles is HOT. I’m going to melt just a little bit…

We did a lot of contacting again this week, which meant a lot of time in the streets. The weather here is so weird. Honestly, if you don’t like the weather, just wait an hour. 😛 It’s almost always chilly in the mornings, but it could be anything in the afternoon. Anyway, the lessons we did have were pretty great. We met with Ricardo, whom we started teaching when I was with Hermana Bazaes. We’re reading the Book of Mormon with him, and it’s really cool to see his understanding expanding as he looks for answers to his own questions. The last time we read, Hermana Chavez made a comment about a verse, and he said, “Yeah, I really like that one too! I even marked it.” It was something really small, but it’s so cool to see how he’s beginning to “liken the scriptures” to himself and make positive changes in his life.

This e-mail is super short, but know that I love you all so very much. Trust in the Lord and have patience with His timing. He really does know when and how things need to happen, and He “loves to bless and teach you.” Remember who you are! Be safe, be smart, be kind.

Lots of love,
Hermana Saunders

