Week 28: in which Hermana Saunders has her pancakes and eats them too

My dearest family and friends,

Hola de Chile! It’s been a pretty great week. Good things happened, I met cool people, and I turned 20!! Yeah, that last one still weirds me out a little… 😲

On Monday we had a really great with an inactive sister, Jacquelin. We’re reading the Book of Mormon with her, and she asks the best questions that show that’s she´s really thinking about everything. She was baptized about a year ago and still has so many questions about a lot of things, but she’s reading and thinking and looking for answers. I love lessons with her because I come away with so many things to study and clarify.

On Tuesday we had a great district meeting in the morning, and we taught Mierta in the afternoon. We brought sweet Hermana Flor with us, whose mom was friends with Mierta. She actually spent some time translating/repeating our Spanish to Mierta, who doesn’t seem to understand us very well…BUT she’s learning, so that’s good. 🙂 In the night we had a really beautiful lesson about the Atonement of Jesus Christ with Christian and Valeria. Valeria was really touched by the analogy in 2 Nephi [actually 1 Nephi], where it says that just like a mother could never forget her nursing child, Christ could not and would not forget us. “For I have engraven thee in the palms of my hands…” I love that scripture.

[Here are the verses she’s referencing, 1 Nephi 21:14-16:

14 But, behold, Zion hath said: The Lord hath forsaken me, and my Lord hath forgotten me—but he will show that he hath not.

15 For can a woman forget her sucking child, that she should not have compassion on the son of her womb? Yea, they may forget, yet will I not forget thee, O house of Israel.

16 Behold, I have graven thee upon the palms of my hands; thy walls are continually before me.

Here, Nephi is quoting Isaiah; the passage he’s quoting is found in the Bible in Isaiah 49:14-16. – AnnMarie]

On Wednesday we had fun teaching Francisca about the gospel of Jesus Christ while we made pancakes (more like crepes, really)–flour for faith, an egg for repentance, water for baptism, oil for gift of the Holy Ghost, and then you have the trial of enduring to the end as you mix everything together and cook them. I’m not sure if Francisca retained everything, but hopefully now she’ll remember the lesson every time she eats pancakes. In English class we learned how to talk about our families. It’s cool to see a little bit of progress in the students with each class, and I’m really grateful for this opportunity. 😬

On Thursday we painted a member’s house. We put plastic bags on our heads to keep the latex paint out of our hair because it’s a pain to get out. The pictures I took could be titled “Attack of the lunch ladies.” 🤓

Friday–20 YEARS OLD!! Wow. Actually, my birthday was the day when we saw the most miracles. While we were copying invitations for English classes, we got to talking with the girl who was helping us; turns out that she’s always been interested in “our religion,” and she seems excited to learn more! She’s also interested in English classes and pilates, so we should see her more often. We also were finally able to visit an inactive sister, who was very interested in the pilates class, and her nephew says he’ll go with his cousin (the sister’s son) to English classes! It’s a step towards actually going to sacrament meeting, so we’re happy about it. I’m grateful that we have these two classes to use as tool to find people and help them feel more comfortable with the church.

SANY0132.JPG

Also, my wonderful companion and the other sisters in the house made me pancakes, hashbrowns, and Eco (“Mormon coffee” 😉 ) for my birthday, which was delicious. And the mission office called me and sang “Happy Birthday.” I felt very loved.

The next day, on Saturday, we found a wonderful lady named Inez in a calle inspirada. Her husband died a few years ago, and her oldest daughter died at 40 years old. Inez says that she’s pretty disillusioned with the whole church thing, but she seems interested in the message that the same church that Christ established exists today. We’re excited to teach her, and I’m so excited to help her see how the restored gospel can help her.

Well, that’s it for this week! Know that I love you all, and you’ve all blessed my life. I hope you have a great week. Be safe, be kind, be smart, and always trust in your Heavenly Father. Know that He loves you perfectly and infinitely.

Love from Chile,
Hermana Saunders

