The rest of week 5: in which Hermana Saunders learns that Mom was totally right :)

 

SANY0191.JPG

Dear family and friends,

Surprise! An e-mail on Wednesday! We have meetings all day Friday, so our P-day was switched to today. We fly out on Monday!! I’m both super excited and nervous. There’ll be a lot of growing pains.

Mom, you are right; fresh mangoes are SO GOOD! I had two at lunch yesterday, and I was a very happy hermana. 😀

Friday: Hermana Clark and I had SOOO much fun playing soccer with a bunch of other hermanas. Most of us were either so-so or just bad, with a few really good exceptions. So it was all in fun, and we laughed pretty much the whole time. I heard an elder watching us say, “They’re so nice.” Yup. 😉

We also finally got the elders together so we could practice our musical number for Sunday. It’s a tradition that the departing districts give a special number in sacrament meeting, so we’re singing “Be Still My Soul,” and Hermana Clark will play violin. It actually doesn’t sound too bad.

Saturday: I guess there wasn’t much to report for this day. We were going to do a service project, but we couldn’t find our service leader, so Hermana Clark and I played piano after several minutes of searching.

Sunday: Sundays are really the best. Fast and testimony meeting was wonderful, a really great time to recharge and be uplifted by the testimonies of others. Almost everyone bore their testimony in Spanish, and I could follow almost all of it! It felt good. 🙂 And I bore mine without having to write it down first. 😀 I’ve come a long way.

Monday: We had a fabulous lesson with “Alfredo.” Hermana Clark and I have learned how to teach together and ping-pong throughout the lesson, so things go smoothly, and we were able to have a really great conversation with him. And we committed him to baptism! (He’s not actually getting baptized, but if he had been a real investigator, he would have.) Hermana Clark and I tried to speak solomente in español. We did really well in the morning, but it fizzled out after lunch. But we’re trying!

Tuesday: We had a really great devotional from Elder D. Todd Chritsofferson in the evening. They live-streamed from Provo, so lucky Elder Meanea actually got to be there. Nyah. Elder Christofferson said something that really struck me. He emphasized the importance of being trusted. He said, “Yes, God loves you very much. But can He trust you?” Can He trust me to be diligent with the talents and opportunities he gives me? Can He trust me to love the investigators He sends me? Can He trust me to keep the commitments I’ve made? I want to be a missionary that both He and the members can trust completely.

SANY0193.JPG

Wednesday: Our district spent about an hour and a half playing volleyball. It was fun! It’s the first and only time we’ve gotten everyone together to play volleyball; the hermanas can’t play soccer with the elders, so volleyball is about the only sport we can play together. I’m glad that we were able to play; I just wish it hadn’t taken five weeks. Later the hermanas are going to play soccer again. I can’t wait!

Life is good. I love being a missionary, and I’ve learned so much. I’m hoping the video of my testimony will go through so you can see that I’m at least learning a little Spanish. 😉

I love you all! Be safe and remember who you are! Until next week!

Love,
Hermana Saunders

